The competition Brief

  • "Our wish for the building is to build a peace center, not just to be in the location, but to use our location to embody the spirit of the social justice movement and project it outward, as well as nurturing it from within," Maria Byck, Paper Tiger Television, 3rd Floor Tenant

    The Peace Pentagon Competition is a project for a living community and has been shaped by its need to balance limited resources, values, and priorities. The current condition of the building requires that action must be taken, to protect the value of this asset. We are seeking proposals for the building’s future that provide for the needs of its users in a dynamic way. The challenge is to develop a visionary plan that can be accomplished on a limited budget.

  • Jury

    Markus Schulte, Ove Arup, New York.

    Deborah Gans, architect and principal at Studio Gans.

    DeeDee Haleck, media activist, founder of Paper Tiger Television and co-founder of the Deep Dish Satellite Network.

    Martha Rosler, artist and writer whose work explores the role of media, architecture and the built environment.

    Karla Rothstein, architect, Latent Productions.

    Nato Thompson, chief curator at Creative Time.

    William Menking, architectural historian, writer and curator, founder of The Architect’s Newspaper

    Michael Sorkin, urban designer and principal, Michael Sorkin Studio.


    ATP Sphere GmbH, Innsbuck, Austria, First Prize, (1 of 3),US$2,333.00.
    Maureen Connor/ Institute for Wishful Thinking, New York, USA, First Prize (1 of 3),
    US$ 2,333.00.
    Benoit Streicher, Michel Sikorski, Strasbourg, France, First Prize (1 of 3), US$ 2,333.00.
    Sergey Pospelov, Vladimir Belskiy, Ildar Valishin & Elena Fedorova, Moscow, Russia, Third Prize (1 of 2), US$ 500.00.
    Graham Thompson, Dublin, Ireland, Third Prize (1 of 2), US$ 500.00.

    read more:


    Nandini Bagchee
    Maureen Shea